Call for Applications, Doctoral Summer School 2019 in Liverpool

This conference invites applications from postgraduate students in the history of education with an interest in the histories of educational spaces and discourses and new ways of working with images, artefacts, and archives. Leading international historians of education will give lectures and workshops, and offer advice concerning the research process. There will be opportunities for students to discuss their dissertation projects with fellow doctoral candidates and receive comments from prominent scholars in the field.

The summer school started as an EERA pilot project and is the tenth conference in a series of successful events that started in Ghent in 2010 and was followed by meetings in Birmingham 2011, Lisbon 2012, Hamburg 2013, Umeå 2014, Luxembourg 2015, Groningen 2016, Porto Conte 2017 and Riga 2018.

This session of the summer school is organised at Liverpool John Moores University. The conference is supported by:

  • Stichting Paedagogica Historica - History of Education Society, UK
  • European Educational Research Association (EERA)
  • International Standing Conference for the History of Education (ISCHE)
  • Liverpool John Moores University (School of Education and School of Humanities and Social Science)

The number of participants is limited to 26 students. The conference language is English. Participation in the conference is free of charge. Accommodation and meals will be provided, but delegates will have to cover the cost for their travel to Liverpool. ISCHE travel bursaries are available to students from low-GDP countries. For more information, please check the application form.

Tutors: Heather Ellis (University of Sheffield, UK), Joyce Goodman (University of Winchester, UK), Ian Grosvenor (University of Birmingham, UK), Rebecca Rogers (Université Paris Descartes, France), Frank Simon (Ghent University, Belgium) and Angelo Van Gorp (University of Koblenz-Landau, Campus Landau, Germany).

Local organisers: Geert Thyssen (chair), Craig Hammond, David Clampin, Jess Delaney, Ellen Thacker

 Application form:

Can be retrieved from and should be sent to

Closing date for applications is 31 December 2018. Successful applicants will be notified in February 2019.

 More information?

Contact Angelo Van Gorp ( for queries regarding application, eligibility and selection criteria; Geert Thyssen ( for queries on practical issues, e.g. regarding travel, accommodation and venue.