Deadline: 31 may 2020


Created in 1998, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Awards recognize and support eminent women in science throughout the world. Each year, five Laureates are recognized for their contributions to the advancement of science, in Life Sciences or Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science in alternating years.
The 2021 edition of the Awards will designate five outstanding scientific researchers in the field of Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, working in the following regions:
- Africa & the Arab States
- Asia and the Pacific
- Europe
- Latin America and the Caribbean
- North America
One candidate will be selected for each of the five regions, the determining factor being the place of work for at least 5 years, not the nationality of the candidate.
Each of the five Laureates will receive an award of €100,000.

Eligibility Criteria
The candidate must:
- Be recognized for her scientific excellence by the international scientific community,
- Be actively involved in scientific research,
- Work in any field of the Physical Sciences, Mathematics or Computer Science mentioned in appendix 1,

For your information, there is no age constraint regarding the candidate.

Selection Criteria
The selection criteria of the candidates are the following:
- The candidate’s outstanding contribution to the general advancement of science,
- The impact of the candidate's research on the current state of the relevant scientific field (number, quality and impact of publications, conference presentations, patents),
- The recognition of the candidate by peers within her discipline through publications,
-The recognition of the candidate’s commitments to education, teaching activities, mentoring and/or to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals more broadly.
The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards are non-renewable.

Scientists around the world are invited to nominate candidates for the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards.
To be considered eligible for an award, it is necessary to be nominated in writing by an eminent scientist. Self-nominations are not eligible, nor nominations from immediate family members.
Teams are not eligible for nomination.
Qualified nominators may be :
 Heads of University or Scientific Institutions,
 Members of Academies of Science,
 Holders of Research Chairs,
 Full professors
 Past For Women in Science Award Laureates,
 or at a minimum holders of a PhD in Science.
Nominations can only be submitted electronically through the online dedicated platform: and have to be written in English.
If new to the system, the nominator will need to create a user ID and password.
An application is considered complete only if it includes all of the following documents:
- A brief explanation of why the nominator considers the candidate to be eligible for the L’OréalUNESCO For Women in Science Award (200-400 words).
- A suggested quotation for the general public if the candidate is selected. This should be a concise statement (maximum of 40 words) describing the key technical or professional accomplishment for which the candidate deserves the Award. Note that the Jury will approve the final official Laureates’ statements.
- A detailed Curriculum Vitae (maximum 2 to 3 pages). The nominator must include in the CV (or in the publications list) any reference to the candidate’s scientific social networks and/or websites (such as ResearchGate, ORCID, personal website).
- A list of all the publications of the nominee.
- A list of the most significant patents starting with the most recent one.
- A list of the 10 most significant publications in order of importance with: a brief summary explaining their significance and why they are so relevant according to the Nominator (less than 150 words by publication); the number of citations for each paper excluding auto-citations, and the impact factor of each journal, if relevant. Please, add a link to access all publications mentioned in the list. If the link of the most significant publications is not available in open access, you have the option to upload them in pdf articles if possible or at least to provide fully detailed article references including all the authors.
- Three to five letters of recommendation from eminent scientists outside the candidate’s home institution.
Nominations that are incomplete or received after May 31st 2020, as well as applications that do not meet the requirements mentioned above, will not be taken into consideration.
Nominations are valid for two Awards cycles. Unsuccessful nominations submitted for the 2021 Awards in Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science will be held on file and nominators will be invited to update their candidates' information when the call for nominations goes out (in April 2022) for the 2023 Awards in Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer science.

See more information: Click